Life’s journey

Overwhelmed with thoughts and emotions as I rock my baby in my childhood room.

I remember sitting in my room looking out my window just wondering where my life would take me. It doesn’t seem like that long ago yet it seems like it’s been forever. It is just an extremely emotional thing looking out the same window I did as a child and teenager so many nights but now as a married woman with my baby in my arms.

I remember wondering who I would eventually marry. Would he be someone I went to school with, college? I remember wondering what I would do for a profession? Where would I live? Would I have children? Would I find happiness?

I also remember feeling like I would never grow up. Why does time seem to move so slow as a child and teenager yet moves at lightning speed as an adult. I wish life would slow down now so I could have so much more time with those I love so much.

I don’t know if anyone else has had the opportunity to experience that moment for themselves but it’s amazing.

I wish there was a way to go back in time and tell myself that everything would work out beautifully. That your husband is incredible, hard working, loyal, funny, just a great friend above all. I would tell myself not to overly stress about work. Life is just too short and spend extra time with granny while she’s alive. I would tell myself that your daughter will be the most amazing thing that will ever happen to you!

But I guess if I knew then what I do now I don’t know if I’d be able to appreciate my life like I do.

I love evenings like this. I like coming back home… It reminds me how far I’ve come. It also helps me remember who I was and I appreciate that just as much.

I am truly blessed!!

4 thoughts on “Life’s journey

  1. This post absolutely touched me (excuse me… Haha… the preggo momma hormones get me extra sentimental at times). My husband and I actually talk about this feeling that you describe in this post all the time. He likes to ask me “did you ever imagine that your life would be the way it is today?” And to tell you the truth, it’s exceeded all of my expectations. There’s something about imagining and envisioning it growing up. But now that we’re actually mommas… The feelings and emotions involved just take it all to a whole new level. The quote in your banner really sums it all up. I look forward to reading more of your posts!

    Like

    • Congratulations on the baby!!!! It’s truly amazing and I’m so blessed and I don’t think I ever really knew just how blessed until I had my daughter! Everyday is so much fun (eexhausting and sleep deprived:) but so much fun). It’s so crazy being in your childhood room where you had so many thoughts, dreams, and worries and realizing that everything worked out better than I could have ever imagined! Good luck with your pregnancy!!

      Like

  2. I recently went to visit my parents who still live in my childhood home. I too had one of these moments. I think you are right though, if we knew it all, where would the excitement, the anticipation be. We enjoy each day for what new adventures and loves it brings our way.

    Beautiful post!! Glad you were able to have some reminiscing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

