Fancy Dinner… Red Wine…. A Night out with my husband

Well I did it! After almost 7 months my husband and I went out to dinner without baby! I was anxious all day leading up to when we left. Okay, actually I was anxious the whole week leading up to it. Sounds crazy I know. My parents were coming up to visit and to bring the gifts they got for Carolina. They have been trying to get me out of the house for months. I just wasn’t ready but I knew I would have to eventually. My husband’s work Christmas party is next Friday so I figured I would use this past Saturday as a test run of how I would do. At this time, I’m only comfortable leaving her with my mom because she has been around Carolina the most outside of my husband and I. My mom also knows our schedule so I knew she would keep her on track. Next Friday I won’t leave until she is in bed and my brother will basically house sit while we’re out. I only texted my parents once to see how she went down because it was the first time I missed that.

I thought about her the whole time but I was able to carry on some adult conversations. I also had 2 glasses of wine (the most I’ve had in over a year). The hardest part was not being here to put her to bed. It was the first time since she was born that I didn’t put her to bed. I didn’t like missing that. We were out for 2.5 hours and that was long enough. I was ready to come home. 1. I missed my baby 2. I had 2 glasses of red wine and was noticing the effects.

I know my parents enjoyed that time with her as they love her so much. It’s so great to see how excited they get over her. My baby fell asleep without any fuss as normal so I’m thankful to know that she did great! I survived but I also felt the happiest when we got home and I was back where I belong. I love taking care of my family. It’s exhausting, thankless work. My husband doesn’t always thank me for cleaning up all the toys at the end of the day, making sure the laundry is done and ready for his work week, that I have the coffee already scheduled to start in the morning. But I know he appreciates what I do and that is all I need. My daughter sleeps sound at night and is happy ‘most’ of the day so I know I’m doing right by her as well. I don’t need a fancy meal, or extended time away to revive me…. I’m perfectly content with my days right here in this house that we have and are continuing to make a home. A home, full of memories and love! The kind of place I’m so very proud of.

Leave a Reply

