Brainstorming and Thinking

I found myself in thought as I watched the movie the ‘Legend of Bagger Vance’. It’s a great movie and I’m not a golf fan or know a thing about golf other than the ball goes into the hole. But it’s a great movie because to me the lines in the movie goes beyond golf. I’ve seen this movie several times and I get sucked into each time.

Tonight I find myself thinking about 2015… what will it contain? Will it be full of happiness…. sadness…. struggles…. great bliss and memories. I know its early for thinking about next year but I can’t help it. I blame it on the movie and the fact that I thrive on planning everything… I mean EVERYTHING!

I won’t be using the term ‘New Years Resolution’ because well let’s be real honest I either 1. fail to meet this so called ‘resolution’… it’s a lot of pressure 2. I made it too simple, met it and then realized it’s only February. 3. I forget what my resolution is by May and then it’s ‘Well there is always next year’. 4. they are just plain dumb, in my opinion.

I plan on creating a checklist of things I want to complete in 2015 and also goals/inspirations of how I would like to better myself.

I’m considering for my checklist:

1. fix landscaping areas outside. (I did nothing last spring due to being very pregnant and just didn’t want to do it).

2. organize the home office. (this is pretty much our catch all room… its atrocious. I can’t breathe in this room). The reason it isn’t done is my husband is a borderline hoarder. He doesn’t get rid of anything because even though he hasn’t touched it in the almost 7 years I’ve known him he may need it some day. UGH major pet peeve right here. If he only knew what I’ve cleaned out… ha! The second reason is I can’t decide how I want to organize it. If you are sitting there and you’re a compulsive organizer like myself you know the struggle. Once you think you know how to arrange/organize something and then you look on pinterest and BAM…… a new idea! I have a love/hate relationship with pinterest.

3. the first thing I will probably do is get my 2015 planner and plan out what I can. I can’t believe I don’t have one yet but I just haven’t found one I like. All the planners I’ve found are geared more towards students in school or they are family focused and well it’s just the three of us so we don’t have sporting events/activities/school stuff so these planners are just too cumbersome for me. I need to find a good one that is FUNCTIONAL.

In regards to my goals or inspirations:

I want to be a better wife… a more patient wife. This will be a challenge because my husband is what some would call an instigator/agitator. He loves to pick on me, poke, goof off. I’ve always been more up tight and serious. So you can see how we can butt heads. He loves me more than anything and I definitely reciprocate the feelings but we are very different. When we first met I loved that he was ‘carefree’ and had a ‘sense of humor’. Going into our 7th year together its ‘are you ever serious’ and ‘lazy’. He isn’t really lazy but I don’t see it as being so much ‘carefree’ if that makes any sense. It’s gonna take a constant conscious decision to take a breath and then react.

I want to try to relax more. Not in the sense that I’m so busy but more relax because I’m an anxious person by nature. I want to make the conscious decision to not get so wound up about anything and everything. This alone could help with the above goal of being a better wife.

To continue improving myself. Nothing to strict but I want to continue to increase my gym time and focus on what I eat and how much I consume.

Over the next week or so I’m sure I will continue adding to the list and altering some items. I’ll post it somewhere I see every day so I can keep myself accountable. Good news= the deadline isn’t January 1 2015 but December 31 2015!

I leave you with one (of many) favorite quote from the movie: “Yep, right here is where this game is won, right here on the green…first you got to see it…Sun gonna be there in the morning, over there in the afternoon…funny thing is the blades of grass are gonna flow with the sun…the green is gonna shift…that same putt is gonna go one way in the morn’in ta’other in the afternoon. One way in the morn’in ta’other in the afternoon, you see dat. Yaa…golf course put folk through quite a punishment…it lives and breathes just like us.” –Bagger Vance

Leave a Reply

