Good Mom; Bad Wife!?!?!

The baby honeymoon has ended in my household over the last several months and I’m just coming to realize it.

When I delivered my daughter I saw a side of my husband I simply didn’t know existed. He was amazing while I was in the hospital. I ended up needing a c-section so I was limited on what I could do those first few days. My husband did everything, without complaint. He took care of me when I had to get up, showering, basically anything that involved me standing up or bending over. He changed diapers, held our daughter as she slept, helped me figure out how to nurse her. Even when he could sleep he didn’t because he was constantly checking on our daughter. He also had to come home periodically to take care of my two dogs.

He had tears in his eyes everyday that week. He said when he would run home he would cry leaving us. I was in complete awe of this man. I never knew of this man and I fell in love with him all over again.

……..

Now fast forward to today. He leaves an empty bag on the table (when the trash can is right next to him), he will hand me something to put I the dirty cloths bin when he is in the same room as the laundry, he hasn’t cooked a meal in I don’t know how long, or cleaned anything. This was the man I was used to.

Now since I stay at home I have no problem cooking, doing laundry, cleaning. You’ll probably think I’m weird but I actually enjoy this work. I’m a little OCD so cleaning is therapeutic to me. I don’t ask him nor expect him to take care of all these things. Somehow, I feel like I’m a bad wife now that I’ve become a mother.

I am pretty obsessed with my daughter and I absolutely love being a mother. Even through screaming fits, sleepless nights, teething, EVERYTHING, I love being a mom. I think I’m a good mother. I don’t mean to brag or boast, I just feel comfortable with being a mother… It feels natural, so I feel like I give her my best.

At the same time, while I’m being a good mother I’m also being a bad wife because I’m constantly getting aggravated by my husband. Unfortunately, I have a tendency to let my opinions fly out of my mouth whether I want them to or not… Even when I know I should just keep my mouth shut…I don’t listen. Therefore, I let my husband know I’m aggravated, and do so often.

I don’t even know why I get so aggravated by him. He hasn’t changed. But then maybe I have. As soon as I give him a piece of my mind I immediately want to rewind time and not say anything. Sometimes I get aggravated because I’m aggravated and I know there isn’t a good reason to be, which is really upsetting. Yet, I am too prideful to admit that to him so I just go along and stay annoyed. I guess the best way to explain it is that I feel like I’m at the peak of PMS and literally the sound of someone breathing ticks you off and you know it’s dumb to be this annoyed but you don’t care you’re annoyed nonetheless (sorry men, I know you can’t relate to that one).

I love my husband more then I could ever explain. Forever simply isn’t long enough for us to be together. I’m so lucky to have a daughter with him. I’m sooooo thankful he has given me the opportunity to stay home with our daughter. I love my life. I feel bad that sometimes I act so unappreciative for everything I have, but I don’t know how to not get annoyed with some of the things he does (or doesn’t do).

I’m sure it doesn’t help that we are both very sarcastic people and have used our dry sense of humor in our relationship since the beginning. I think that isn’t working anymore and it’s taking some adjustment. I’m also the person who will keep a lot of my real feelings in and not want to talk about them until I understand them and he always wants everything to be okay all the time. As you can imagine, that combination doesn’t quite work well together sometimes.

I want to work on not only being a good mother but also a better wife. My husband and I are the best of friends and our love is so comfortable. I think we just need to figure out how to be husband/wife AND daddy/mommy at the same time.

6 thoughts on “Good Mom; Bad Wife!?!?!

  1. I can relate to this post so so much! Going through just abt everything you mentioned. .c sec, teething phase, cleanliness freayky side of me.. from how my husband used to be so much help around to how he has become so lazy with us.. being a good wife also means that the other parent understands his role too. I can only say that I know what you must be going through. Just stay thick! *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. Sometimes I feel a little silly because it’s like i want to say “do it yourself” but also there is a side of me that likes to be able to take care of him. Guess i want my cake and eat it too…. Lol

      Like

  2. I found myself nodding to this post, thinking THANK GOODNESS it’s not just me! Thank you for writing it, loved this post. I have been trying to bite my tongue to be a ‘good wife’ and letting slide the dirty laundry that’s put next to the basket, the groceries that end up next to the pantry and everything else that is left where it doesn’t belong. i will explode soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad I’m not alone either. Ive always said I don’t mind taking care of most everything around the house up until I feel like I’m taken for granted. That’s when it gets under my skin. A simple thank you for what you do or just cleaning up his dinner plate. Lol

      Like

  3. Hey Terri, you are not alone. The same is happening in every other household regardless of the different geographies and cultures we are from. So just stay put, this phase will pass or you will develop a strong immunity. Either ways you will be fine.
    To celebrate our sisterhood in the blogging world, I have nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award!!! In case you are thinking what is it, you can find out more about my nomination here:

    https://iknownothingaboutit.wordpress.com/2015/01/21/sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award/
    I hope you will accept this award.

    Like

Leave a Reply

