Cry it out or pick her up?!?!

I think we have officially been in the 9 month sleep regression or whatever you want to call it. It’s been two weeks and it seems like every other night my daughter wakes up crying. And it’s a constant struggle to whether I should go in her room or let her put herself back to sleep.

She’s been sleeping 10-12 hours a night for a little over 5 months, so I do consider myself lucky. But it makes sleepless nights harder because I’m not used to it. And she’s always done really well putting herself to sleep. I’m at a lost as to how to handle this “disturbance” with what’s comfortable for me as her mother.

I’m afraid that if this little sleep regression thingy is only temporary I don’t want to create bad habits by going in her room. At the same time I don’t want to avoid her if she truly needs me.

Every night she wakes up crying I go through thoughts like:

1. “Is she hungry?” But she hasn’t had a nighttime feedings and she was just over three months,so no I don’t think she’s hungry.

2. “Did she bump her head and hurt herself?” Doesn’t seem like her cry indicates pain so maybe she didn’t hurt herself. She doesn’t sleep still so I think when she moves constantly she wakes herself up. But when she is crying she is typically laying in the position she sleeps in so I keep thinking maybe she’ll put yourself back to sleep

3. “are you teething and in pain?” This one is the hardest for me to answer because I feel like she’s been teething nonstop but not in a terrible amount of pain. I hate using medicine if she’s not really teething or in pain.

All of these thoughts/questions and then some leave me laying in bed thinking to myself “do I go in there and pick her up or do I let her cry it out.” I’ve also pulled out good ol Google to read articles about how to handle this sleep regression (because we all agree Google is the know all lol). The only thing I really found as I could last anywhere between 3 to 6 weeks. We’re about to hit week three so maybe were almost done.

I just never know what I want to do about it. She doesn’t wake up every night right now it’s about every other night but when she’s up she’s really crying for about 30 minutes to maybe an hour. Not constantly I should say, she’ll settle down for a few minutes and start back up and do that for maybe an hour.

The first night I heard her it startled me because I’m not used to her waking up so I jumped out of bed and ran into her room. I quickly grabbed her and calmed her down. Then I realized that I couldn’t put her back down and I struggled for almost 4 hours putting her back to bed. She’d fall right to sleep in my arms so I know she was tired but would scream so hard when I tried to lay her down. I eventually had to just let her cry it out. I was crying listening and watching the baby monitor. She’s also getting very clingy with only me which I know is pretty common so I don’t want to enhance that by keeping her up at night and creating bad sleeping habits.

If anyone who reads this has suggestions that worked for them I’m all ears.

3 thoughts on “Cry it out or pick her up?!?!

Leave a Reply

