believing hard work will pay off-May 2015 update

So I have been working on getting healthier… losing weight for about 6 months now; and seriously for about 2. I am trying to do things a little differently in order to hold myself accountable.

1. I’ve been using instagram as a tool to follow fitness pages and individuals which has really helped keep me motivated on days that are a little hectic, tiring, etc. I’ve also been posting on there my workouts that I’ve been doing. I’ve received a lot of feedback in terms of likes to my posts so that is also motivating.  If you are on instagram feel free to follow me @tnm_514

2. I’m also using myfitnesspal to track what I’ve been eating (my account is set to private as I don’t use it to follow or connect with anyone… it’s just for me). I’ve been following a more flexible dieting approach and using IIFYM. I love the research behind it and the fact that I’m not limited to certain foods or restricted from others. I am eating healthier options but it’s important to still track the amount. I won’t go into my macros specifically but I determined my macros by doing a lot of research and through trial and error. I’m not an expert in the area and I’ll never claim to be but I am feeling some results.

3. I am also starting to take progress photos in addition to taking measurements. This is something I’ve never done before when trying to make changes because honestly I’ve always found it more discouraging than helpful. But this time around I do want to see when I start seeing changes in my photos. Especially now having my daughter I want to feel comfortable in photographs with her so maybe if I get used to seeing myself in photos I will feel more comfortable taking some with her.

4. Lastly, I’m gonna start incorporating more of this aspect of my life in my blog. I hope it is helpful to me to get some of my thoughts, accomplishments, set backs and frustrations out and work things out through my writing.

On Thursday morning I weighed myself and I was down 1.6 lbs in about 9 days. I was ecstatic about that movement; mainly because I had been hitting my macros and really working out with some good sessions. I decided to take my measurements that day as well since I was on a high from losing over a lb. Unfortunately, didn’t see a whole lot of movement in the measurements. One thing about me is that I’m very results oriented. I have to see some kind of result in order to stay motivated; so I’m glad I saw the change in my weight, but I would have liked to see in my measurements as well. You know have my cake and eat it too (probably not a good analogy when talking about weight loss, because now I’m craving something sweet).

I am starting to notice my clothes are feeling different on me so I’m very happy about that. Overall, from April to May I feel stronger. I know Rome wasn’t built in a day so I’m believe in the process and hoping that in the upcoming months (especially with summer around the corner) I start seeing the results as well as feeling them.

My workouts are getting more intense and I’ll add some of my favorites some time in case there is anyone reading this who is in a similar situation. I’m very tradition when I work out. I like running or doing some sprint HIIT for my cardio and I like lifting weights. I’m not a big fan of doing a lot of plyometrics, mainly because I’m not comfortable doing them right now. I incorporate some from time to time and I don’t despise them anymore so maybe one day my preferences will change. I’m working on a 4 day split for weight training (day1: legs; day2: back/bi day3: shoulders/abs day4: chest/tri) there are times on days 1,2,4 that I will also train some abs as well. I’m also consistently doing cardio 3x’s a week. I’m so glad that it is nice outside because my daughter and I can go running in the morning and then I can go to the gym after she goes to bed at night. It’s been working out well for the last couple weeks. Key now is to stick with it.

My gym time is the most challenging because I have to work it around my husbands schedule and his schedule hasn’t been the same in over 2 years. So I just have to plan to go and then make up for it later if I can’t make it that night. I’m getting better about doing at home workouts if I can’t make it to the gym.

I’m hoping that for my June update that I see at least 2-3 lbs gone and 1-2 inches from my chest, waist, and hips.

I’m really big on reading quotes and if you google workout quotes there is a plethora of motivation quotes. These two stand out to me right now!

762e7e8cef8bb4952f23f43c8c7e163d eb576dad9e9ba99577e5fea5b30dafdf]

If you decide to stay up to date on my progress then I look forward to updating everyone on 31 days! Train hard!

Leave a Reply

