Leg day: A love/hate relationship

I think I have always been slightly different than the majority of people. I’ve felt this way for most of my teenage and adult years. I say that because if you look at or talk to females in the gym or fitness industry I would feel confident that their favorite day is leg day. I on the other hand loathe leg day. I get it … We all want the JLo booty and look great in pants. I want those things too I just don’t enjoy the workouts. I don’t enjoy the day after. Or the day after that! Don’t get me wrong I never skip a leg day and I lift heavy on leg days; so I put in the necessary work. Just… Well… Ugh it’s the necessary evil.

Over the past several months I am seeing some major improvement in my leg muscles. My calves are very defined. My quads are growing and becoming more defined as well. These two areas tend to develop and grow the fastest on my body so I tend to focus on my hamstrings and glutes on leg days.

Tonight was leg day and it was a really good burn in my glutes. Here is the workout I complete:
Wide stance squat 3-12 100#
Leg press 6-6 460#
Hip thrusts 3-12 135#
Leg extension 3-12 60#
Lying leg curl 3-12 85#
Cable glute kickbacks 3-12 20#
Standing calf raises 3-12 90#
Calf extensions 3-12 100#

I basically went exercise to exercise with little rest(time to set up next exercise). I took about 30-45 seconds between sets. I felt the burn in my glutes half way through and I’m sure tomorrow sitting and standing up will be difficult; but no pain no gain right?!?!?

Overall, I’m really proud of my progress thus far. As of last Monday I’ve lost 44 lbs and over 16″ (chest,waist,hips) since November 2014. I have done everything on my own so progress may be slow and I may have a few hiccups but I view this as a journey I will be on forever. This is a new lifestyle for me and I’m simply loving it. I have done a lot of research and reading about health and fitness related topics. I also really enjoy researching information on nutrition..a good, healthy diet is now more important than ever since becoming a mother. I want her to grow up with good quality food. She doesn’t know what cookies, juice, soda, chips, basically anything that’s junk. I’m proud of that! She’s 17 months old, she doesn’t need that crap.

my workout split right now looks similar to:

chest/triceps

back/biceps

legs

shouder/abs

It is getting colder out and it’s been too chilly in the morning to run with my daughter in the stroller. So in order to keep my body guessing I am switching up my cardio and adding some HIIT circuits into my workouts. I’m going to keep these to 15 minutes or so for now as I am fairly ne to this style of training. Updates to come regarding HIIT progress. So stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

